From D’s to the Emmy’s: A Conversation with Sprague Theobald, Dyslexic – Dyslexia Training Institute Blog

“We know how important it is to identify dyslexia for remediation purposes, but what about for emotional reasons? Sprague shared that the school system had, “truly and ruthlessly broken my confidence and spirit. The inner pain that it caused was huge. So much so that when I was 12, I found my first beer, my first joint and basically didn’t have a straight day until I got sober when I was 27. Given the choice of a path that was bad for me or one that was good for me, ten times out of ten I purposely chose the one that was bad for me, just to ‘show them.’” Sprague’s story really resonated with me as I have heard this story from so many adults who came for help at the adult literacy program, the effects of unidentified dyslexia can be insurmountable.”

Read more of this post by clicking the link below

Source: www.dyslexiatraininginstitute.org

See on Scoop.itdyslexia

Leave a comment