My Dyslexia Diagnosis – The Yale Center for Dyslexia & Creativity

“When I was diagnosed with dyslexia, I was relieved. Before, I had blamed my various failures on inferior academic abilities. After the diagnosis I began to believe for the first time in a long time that I could adequately do the work and compete with my peers if given an appropriate amount of time to do it and do it well…When we notified my school of my disability, I immediately received accommodations in order to put me on an equal playing field of sorts. Most importantly, I was allowed time and a half on all of my tests and end-of-semester exams. As I began to utilize these accommodations that I had been granted, my grades skyrocketed. Between the extra time and my modified study habits, I felt like a new student.”

Read more of this post by clicking the link below

Source: dyslexia.yale.edu

See on Scoop.itdyslexia

Leave a Reply

