What it’s like having dyslexia in the workplace – and how you can help

“A few years ago, I had a job interview with a well-known parenting website they didn’t warn me that there would be a sub-editing test. I was handed an article riddled with typos, a pen and twenty minutes to correct it. I knew as soon as they gave it to me that I wouldn’t get the job. I did my best, but without the help of Microsoft Office’s wiggly red line, or a dictionary, there was just no way I could spot a typo.

I kept it together long enough to get out of the interview before I burst into tears. Afterwards I couldn’t shake the feeling this was painfully unfair. I would have been good at that job. But because my mind doesn’t work like other people’s, I was never going to get the chance.”

Read more of this post by clicking the link below

Sourced through Scoop.it from: www.telegraph.co.uk

See on Scoop.itdyslexia

2 thoughts on “What it’s like having dyslexia in the workplace – and how you can help

  1. Per your Facebook request. And thank you for the opportunity to expound on 14 years of effort to create something to help dyslexics! See below:
    The suggestion of a tearful 13 year old, brilliant dyslexic girl encouraged the development of the first, one-of-a-kind dyslexia dictionary, “Gabby’s Wordspeller & Phonetic Dictionary”. Now in its 8th year, this unique dictionary has been transformed into Apps and Books entitled, “American Wordspeller”.

    This handy resource tool, written by Gabby’s mother, Diane Frank, is used in over 800 school districts and 20 countries for those who struggle with spelling. Not only does it generate the correct spelling for you no matter how misspelled the word is, but will also provide the definition, spelled out suffixes and prefixes as well as cross reference your word if it is spelled or sounds similar to another word such as ‘petal’, ‘pedal’ or ‘peddle’.

    A usability study, performed by Dr. Luz Rello et al at Carnegie Melon University mentioned the App, ‘American Wordspeller & Phonetic Dictionary’ as an “…easily accessible mobile application for People with Dyslexia” in 2012.

    Find your word by the way it sounds! Designed by and for genius dyslexics!

    http://www.americanwordspeller.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

