Diagnosis Dyslexia, APD & Homeschool

“For us, that diagnosis catapulted us forward. We finally had movement, progress being made. I just about devoured any sort of article, blog post, or book I could find on dyslexia and APD. I prayed for direction, for perseverance and for a softened heart. I began researching how dyslexics learn, how my own daughter learns. That alone made a huge difference. I was expecting her to fit into the mold of my teaching. That didn’t work so well for me. It took me years of homeschooling and a dyslexia/APD diagnosis for me to take a look at the way I was teaching. The reality is, her diagnosis is here to stay, it’s not something that she will grow out of. So we learn to adapt. We adapt how we homeschool, we learn new tricks, we experiment with different curriculum, we give lots of hugs, say lots of prayers and remind each other to look for the glimmers of hope.”

Read more of this post by clicking the link below

Source: homeschoollaunch.com

See on Scoop.itdyslexia

Leave a Reply

